Sci-Fi Month: An Introduction

If you’ve been following my blog (or my Twitter account) for the last month or so, you’ll have noticed that I’ve been talking about my upcoming posts for an event called Sci-Fi Month. Here’s the gist if you’re just tuning in now: together with 50+ bloggers, we’ll be spending November talking about all aspects of science fiction; books, movies, TV shows, reviews, giveaways, and more.

Here are my planned contributions to the event. I’ve talked about my ideas before, but I’ve been adjusting and paring the list of topics down:

November 1: An introductory post about myself, how I came to science fiction, where I am now, and where I want to go in the field. Douglas Adams, Arthur C. Clarke, and especially Isaac Asimov make appearances.

November 11: A review of Isaac Asimov’s The Caves of Steel, which will be a re-read. I described the premise in a previous post.

November 13: A review of Madeline Ashby’s vN. Here’s the description from Angry Robot Books’ website:

Amy Peterson is a von Neumann machine, a self-replicating humanoid robot.

For the past five years, she has been grown slowly as part of a mixed organic/synthetic family. She knows very little about her android mother’s past, so when her grandmother arrives and attacks her mother, little Amy wastes no time: she eats her alive.

Now she carries her malfunctioning granny as a partition on her memory drive, and she’s learning impossible things about her clade’s history – like the fact that the failsafe that stops all robots from harming humans has failed… Which means that everyone wants a piece of her, some to use her as a weapon, others to destroy her.

November 15: A post titled “Robot vs. Robot”. I compare and contrast The Caves of Steel and vN. Two books, written almost 60 years apart, examining human-robot interaction. What’s changed in science fiction’s representation of robots, and how humans react to them? What do these books reveal about humanity?

November 17, 18, and 25: I review and recap Almost Human, a new science fiction show that features a human cop and his android partner.

There you have it. If you have any questions about my plans for this event, please drop me a line at terracognition [at] gmail [dot] com or message me on Twitter at @cepheusradio. I’m really looking forward to this month and interacting with the science fiction community.

This post is part of Sci-Fi Month, a month-long blogging event hosted by Rinn Reads. You can find the link to all the participants and their posts here.

4 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Month: An Introduction

  1. Ooh, vN sounds pretty intriguing, I shall be keeping an eye out for your review =D I may also have to give Almost Human a try, depending on your posts. Too many books and TV shows to catch up on!

    Thanks for joining in with the event Dan, and I look forward to reading your posts =)

  2. I’ve seen quite a few commercials for Almost Human and it’s really sparked my interest. Looking forward to your posts on that! 🙂

    1. Yep. I’m really enjoying vN so far (about 1/2 way through it), and already I’m looking forward to the next book.

Comments are closed.