First Look at the COSMOS Trailer

One of the authors that has touched my worldview over my life has been Carl Sagan. I remember purchasing a dog-eared copy of Cosmos: A Personal Voyage from the basement of a used bookstore in North Bay and reading it incessantly. I had already read some of Sagan’s work – Broca’s Brain, Billions and Billions, A Demon-Haunted World – but reading this book and seeing the accompanying documentary brought Sagan alive to me. The philosophy inherent in this little book and the documentary – the thrill of human discovery, the need to acquire and dearly protect knowledge, and the smallness of humanity in the vastness of the universe – have all affected me deeply since I first started reading it.

You can imagine how excited I was to hear in 2011 that the show was coming back. Since then, the timelines for its release have become clearer. In 2014, FOX Broadcasting is releasing a reboot of Cosmos, entitled Cosmos: A Space-Time Odyssey, hosted by astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, and produced by Ann Druyan, Steven Soter, and Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlane.

The trailer for the new show was released last Saturday at Comic-Con. Take a look – it promises to be amazing.

One thought on “First Look at the COSMOS Trailer

Comments are closed.